Menu Close

Old St Mellons

Get Directions

+44 (0)29 2077 8936

Follow Us


The House System

The House System

Pupils and students at St John’s College are divided into four houses, each named after a significant person from Welsh and local history.

  • Bute: the family who owned Cardiff Castle and were responsible for much of the industrialisation of Cardiff.
  • De La Salle: John Baptiste De La Salle, the Catholic patron saint of teachers and founder of the De La Salle schools.
  • Mostyn: Francis Mostyn who served a Archbishop of Cardiff from 1921-1939.
  • St David’s: named after the patron saint of Wales.


Each member of staff is affiliated with a house. In the Junior and Senior schools, there are house guardians who help coordinate inter-house activities, competitions and campaigns. Pupils are awarded house points for academic achievement and good conduct, with a running total kept throughout the academic year.

In addition, inter-house competitions are held every term and complement the large whole-school occasions such as the Eisteddfod and Sports Days.

Our house system allows everyone to engage in healthy, constructive competition and encourages teamwork and establishes a sense of community and belonging.


Related Stories